News 22 Aug 2020

Geico Honda's Martin earns 250MX win with consistency

Moto spoils at Loretta Lynn's 2 shared by Hampshire and Alex Martin.

Image: Octopi Media.

Loretta Lynn’s 2 saw RJ Hampshire and Alex Martin split the 250MX moto wins, but it was Geico Honda’s Jeremy Martin who stood atop the overall podium in round two of Lucas Oil Pro Motocross.

Wet and muddy conditions made for a challenging day out at the Ranch, with qualifying topped by red plate-holder Dylan Ferrandis (Monster Energy Star Racing Yamaha) this morning.

Track conditions worsened prior to the opening motos and, as the gates dropped, it was Shane McElrath (Monster Energy Star Racing Yamaha) who got out front early before Alex Martin (JGRMX Yoshimura Suzuki) stormed past almost immediately.

His time at the front was short-lived, however, going down and returning the lead to McElrath, who then encountered misfortune of his own when stalling his YZ250F and unable to restart for some time.

That enabled Cameron McAdoo (Monster Energy Pro Circuit Kawasaki) to hit the front momentarily, until eventual winner Hampshire (Rockstar Energy Husqvarna) took charge and went on to win by 9.879s.

Behind him came red plate-holder Dylan Ferrandis (Monster Energy Star Yamaha), who recovered from a fall and pit-stop for fresh goggles, and Jeremy Martin was third, over a minute outside of the lead. McAdoo crossed the line in P4, with Carson Mumford (Geico Honda) solid for fifth.

Six through 10th were Mitchell Harrison (Monster Energy Pro Circuit Kawasaki), Alex Martin, McElrath, Pierce Brown (TLD Red Bull KTM) and Gared Steinke (KTM).

One notable non-finisher was Hunter Lawrence (Geico Honda), reportedly dislocating his shoulder after running fourth in the opening laps, while brother Jett struck trouble when inside the top 10 during the latter stages.

It was an all-Martin affair in the second outing, with the rain holding off despite drops falling on the start-line, as Alex Martin went on to take a controlled victory by over a full minute from elder brother Jeremy, which sealed him the round win.

A fast-starting McElrath took third place, while points-leader Ferrandis overcame an opening lap crash to climb all the way back from outside of the top 20 to fourth.

It was another solid effort from McAdoo in fifth, followed by Justin Cooper (Monster Energy Star Racing Yamaha), rookie Stilez Robertson (Rockstar Energy Husqvarna), Lance Kobusch (KTM), Derek Drake (TLD Red Bull KTM) and Harrison.

Jeremy Martin’s CRF250R was steaming through much of the moto, but managed to hold on and secured his first overall since 2018 via a 3-2 scorecard, joined on the podium by Ferrandis and Alex Martin. Earlier race winner Hampshire’s bike stopped toward the end, dropping him to 18th and sixth overall for the weekend.

Next on the 2020 Lucas Oil Pro Motocross Championship schedule will be the Ironman National next Saturday, 30 August, in Crawfordsville, Indiana.

Detailed results