News 15 Aug 2020

Ferrandis perfect for 250MX double at opening round

Star Yamaha rider delivers clean-sweep to commence outdoor series.

Image: Octopi Media.

Title favourite Dylan Ferrandis has dominated the 250MX class in the opening round of the 2020 Lucas Oil Pro Motocross Championship at Loretta Lynn’s.

Ferrandis captured the first moto victory of the season with a commanding ride, hitting the front on lap one and then inching away from the field to a 19.802s advantage.

He was followed by Jeremy Martin (Geico Honda) in second, with RJ Hampshire (Rockstar Energy Husqvarna) enjoying a strong return to racing in third, while the fast-starting Shane McElrath (Monster Energy Star Yamaha) crossed the line fourth and Alex Martin stormed to a top five.

Geico Honda’s Jett Lawrence was able to salvage sixth following a fall mid-moto, followed by Derek Drake (TLD Red Bull KTM), Mason Gonzales (Rock River Yamaha), Cameron McAdoo (Monster Energy Pro Circuit Kawasaki) and Justin Cooper (Monster Energy Star Yamaha), who had scored the hole-shot.

Elsewhere, Hunter Lawrence (Geico Honda) went out on the opening back with a mechanical, while Monster Energy Pro Circuit Kawasaki replacement Mitchell Harrison had been inside the top five until he stalled and couldn’t restart, dropping down the order to 23rd.

Another win in moto two for Ferrandis sealed him the overall and early points-lead in the season, with the top three being the same as the opening outing as Hampshire was second, 13.199s in arrears and this time getting the better of Jeremy Martin in third.

In fact, the entire top five was identical, with early leader McElrath fourth and Alex Martin a solid fifth. Sixth was an improvement for McAdoo this time out, trailed by Jett Lawrence, Cooper, Harrison and Brandon Hartranft (TLD Red Bull KTM).

Ferrandis was sixth at the end of the opening lap, climbed into the top three by lap four and led from lap seven, going on to dominate for the second race in a row this afternoon. Overall it was Ferrandis atop the podium, joined by Hampshire and Jeremy Martin.

The 2020 Lucas Oil Pro Motocross Championship will continue with round two of nine scheduled next Saturday, 22 August, once again at Loretta Lynn’s.

Detailed results