News 22 Feb 2020

Hill tops Arlington 450SX qualifying on combined times

250SX East points-leader McElrath goes fastest in Texas.

Image: Octopi Media.

Smartop MotoConcepts Bullfrog Spas Honda’s Justin Hill qualified quickest in 450SX as Shane McElrath topped 250SX East in Monster Energy Supercross at Arlington.

Hill’s impressive 45.958s placed him directly ahead of red plate-holder Eli Tomac (Monster Energy Kawasaki), with Martin Davalos (Monster Energy Team Tedder KTM) third.

Defending champion Cooper Webb (Red Bull KTM) slotted into fourth over Jason Anderson (Rockstar Energy Husqvarna), as Ken Roczen (Team Honda HRC), Zach Osborne (Rockstar Energy Husqvarna), his teammate Dean Wilson, Justin Brayton (Team Honda HRC) and Blake Baggett (Rocky Mountain KTM WPS) completed the top 10.

The major news this afternoon was the injury of premier class rookie Adam Cianciarulo (Monster Energy Kawasaki), who sustained a broken collarbone in qualifying one and will miss the night show as a result.

Image: Octopi Media.

In 250SX, Monster Energy Star Yamaha’s McElrath dominated the second session with a flying 45.406s, the points-leader almost a full second faster than Chase Sexton (Geico Honda) in P2 after setting the fastest time of all.

Third came Jeremy Martin (Geico Honda), leading Jordon Smith (Monster Energy Pro Circuit Kawasaki) and RJ Hampshire (Rockstar Energy Husqvarna) inside the top five.

Josh Hill (Monster Energy Fox Yamaha), Jace Owen (Phoenix Racing Honda), Garrett Marchbanks (Monster Energy Pro Circuit Kawasaki), Enzo Lopes (Yamaha) and Jalek Swoll (Rockstar Energy Husqvarna) were in positions six through 10.

Detailed results