News 16 Mar 2024

McAdoo breaks through for 250SX Triple Crown victory

First win of the season gives McAdoo the red plate in Indianapolis.

Image: Octopi Media.

Monster Energy Pro Circuit Kawasaki’s Cameron McAdoo put three solid races together at the Triple Crown round of Monster Energy AMA Supercross at Indianapolis to take the overall win in the 250SX class. The win was McAdoo’s first of the 2024 season as well as his first win since the 2022 Arlington Supercross.

McAdoo was able to win the opening race of the three-race format but settled for second in Race 2 behind Monster Energy Yamaha Star Racing’s Haiden Deegan. With both riders tied going into the final race, they would be left to settle the overall win between each other. But Deegan went crashing to the ground off the start when he clipped a Tuff Block.

Red Bull KTM’s Tom Vialle would holeshot the final race and take off to cruise to the win, but it wasn’t enough to knock McAdoo’s 1-2-3 performance off the top step. While Vialle ended up with 4-3-1 scores for second overall, McAdoo simply rode it him in third for the final race to seal the deal. Deegan would pick it up from his first turn crash and charge all the way back to sixth but was left to settle with third overall.

Troy Lee Designs Red Bull GasGas rider Pierce Brown turned a rough first race around to end his night fourth overall, just beating out Muc-Off FXR ClubMX Yamaha’s Coty Schock. Schock was racing remarkably just five days removed from surgery on a broken collarbone he sustained at last week’s Birmingham Supercross, and he pushed through the pain in Indianapolis to pull off an impressive top five.

The top 10 spots behind that featured Nick Romain (Monster Energy Yamaha Star Racing), Jeremy Martin (Muc-Off FXR ClubMX Yamaha), Chance Hymas (Honda HRC), Seth Hammaker (Monster Energy Pro Circuit Kawasaki), and Daxton Bennick (Monster Energy Yamaha Star Racing).

McAdoo now takes over the points lead from Vialle by two points as the series has crested the halfway mark. For the 250SX East riders, another big break comes in their schedule as they will not race again until April 13th at Foxborough’s Gilette Stadium.

Detailed results