News 2 Mar 2024

Career-first 250SX East victory for Vialle at Daytona

Anstie narrowly retains championship lead in Florida.

Image: Octopi Media.

Daytona’s Monster Energy Supercross saw Frenchman Tom Vialle (Red Bull KTM Factory Racing) earn a career-first 250SX East main event victory, while Max Anstie (Fire Power Honda Racing) has narrowly retained the championship lead.

Marking round three for 250SX East, the main event got off to a chaotic start as Haiden Deegan (Monster Energy Star Racing Yamaha) and Camera McAdoo (Monster Energy Pro Circuit Kawasaki) traded positions for first, but it was McAdoo who initially took the lead.

Deegan stalled in the opening laps to relinquish second to Seth Hammaker (Monster Energy Pro Circuit Kawasaki), as Vialle put on a charge to pass both riders for P2 in the following laps.

McAdoo looked in control of the main event until a mistake at the halfway mark saw him go off track, Vialle capitalising to secure the lead. It was the last they saw of the factory KTM entry, as he gapped the field while storming to an incredible maiden victory.

The podium was rounded out by Monster Energy Pro Circuit Kawasaki duo McAdoo and Hammaker, while Deegan fended off Pierce Brown (TLD Red Bull GasGas) to finish fourth and fifth respectively.

Muc-Off FXR ClubMX Coty Schock was a consistent sixth ahead of Jalek Swoll (Triumph Factory Racing), who narrowly edged out Anstie in an epic final lap battle – the pair separated by just 0.090s at the chequered flag. Marshal Weltin (Rock River Yamaha) and Daxton Bennick (Monster Energy Star Racing Yamaha) locked out the top 10, while Anstie now holds a slender one-point lead in the 250SX East standings over McAdoo and Brown.

In 250SX Futures, Drew Adams (Monster Energy Team Green Kawasaki) defeated New Zealander Cole Davies (TLD GasGas) to emerge victorious, as Casey Cochran (Rockstar Energy Husqvarna Factory Racing) rounded out the podium. Davies remains the points leader after two rounds with a six-point advantage over Adams.

Monster Energy Supercross now heads to Protective Stadium in Birmingham on 9 March.

Detailed results