News 3 Feb 2024

Lawrence becomes first two-time winner of 2024 in Detroit

Defending champion Sexton reclaims the red plate following round five.

Image: Octopi Media.

Team Honda HRC 450SX newcomer Jett Lawrence put forward a dominant performance in Detroit to become the first two-time winner of Monster Energy Supercross 2024, as defending champion Chase Sexton reclaimed the red plates.

Lawrence – who also qualified quickest and won his heat race – hasn’t been on the podium since winning Anaheim 1, but at Ford Field he was effectively untouched after charging to the holeshot.

A runner-up result for Sexton (Red Bull KTM) saw him retake the points lead, joined on the podium by Ken Roczen (Progressive Ecstar Suzuki) in third position. Last week’s winner Cooper Webb (Monster Energy Yamaha Star Racing) charged to fourth, with Jason Anderson (Monster Energy Kawasaki) filling the top-five.

Sixth now sees Aaron Plessinger (Red Bull KTM) two points outside of the red plate, followed by Dylan Ferrandis (Phoenix Racing Honda), Hunter Lawrence (Team Honda HRC), Justin Cooper and his Monster Energy Yamaha Star Racing teammate Eli Tomac 10th after dropping back down the order during the middle-to-late stages.

It’s now Sexton who holds the 450SX championship lead for the second time this season, a single point clear of Lawrence, who is in turn one more ahead of Plessinger leading into Glendale’s sixth round of the season next Saturday, 10 February.

Detailed results