News 27 Jan 2024

Consistency wins Webb Triple Crown overall at Anaheim 2

Individual race victories belong to Sexton, Anderson and Tomac.

Image: Octopi Media.

A consistent effort from Cooper Webb saw him win the opening Triple Crown stop of the 2024 Monster Energy Supercross season, standing on top of the 450SX podium for the first time since rejoining Monster Energy Yamaha Star Racing.

The opening premier class race at Anaheim 2 was won by Chase Sexton (Red Bull KTM) from Webb and Ken Roczen (Progressive Ecstar Suzuki), before Jason Anderson (Monster Energy Kawasaki) topped race two over Webb and Jett Lawrence (Team Honda HRC).

Race three saw Monster Energy Yamaha Star Racing’s Tomac sprint away from Sexton and points-leader Aaron Plessinger (Red Bull KTM), while Webb’s fifth-place result was enough to earn him the overall.

Webb was ultimately joined by teammate Tomac and Plessinger, who benefited from a penalty applied to Anderson – who ended up P4 overall – at the end of race three. Defending champion Sexton was fifth overall as a result of his 11th-place finish in the second outing.

Positions sixth through 10th included Lawrence with 7-3-4 scores, followed by Roczen, fastest qualifier Justin Cooper (Monster Energy Yamaha Star Racing), Dylan Ferrandis (Phoenix Racing Honda) and Malcolm Stewart (Rockstar Energy Husqvarna) in his best result of the year.

It’s again Plessinger who holds the 2024 Monster Energy Supercross Championship lead, four points ahead of teammate Sexton and a further two in front of Webb leading into round five at Detroit next Saturday, 3 February.

Detailed results