News 11 Mar 2023

Wire-to-wire Indianapolis victory extends Lawrence points lead

Holeshot precedes comfortable victory over rival Thrasher for 250SX East points leader.

Hunter Lawrence wins the 250SX East main event inside Lucas Oil Stadium in March 2023.

Image: Octopi Media.

The fourth 2023 Monster Energy Supercross victory for Hunter Lawrence and the ninth of his career arrived as he led from the gate drop to the checkered flag in Indianapolis.

The points-leading Team Honda HRC rider launched into the lead by the end of the short start straight and was unchallenged — by anything beyond the track itself — on his way to beating rival Nate Thrasher of Monster Energy Yamaha Star Racing to the finish by 7.97s.

A competitive night for Monster Energy Pro Circuit Kawasaki fill-in Chris Blose extended to the main event as he slotted in behind Lawrence through the opening lap, followed closely by the Star Racing-prepared factory Yamaha machines of Thrasher, Jordon Smith, and Haiden Deegan.

Muc-Off FXR ClubMX Yamaha rider Jeremy Martin pursued this lead group in fifth and was promoted to fourth when Daytona podium finisher Deegan fell midway through the whoops section.

Also benefiting from Deegan’s mistake, Max Anstie (Fire Power Honda) secured fifth as Lawrence, Thrasher, Smith, and Martin remained in position ahead, with 15s separating Thrasher and Smith and more than 22s between Smith and Martin.

Deegan, Tom Vialle (Red Bull KTM), and Phoenix Racing Honda teammates Cullin Park and Coty Schock completed the top 10.

After 21 laps on the rough and rutted Lucas Oil Stadium track in Indianapolis, Lawrence heads to Detroit’s Ford Field with a 22-point lead over his 250SX East competitors. Anstie holds second in the standings while Thrasher and Smith occupy third and fourth, 32 and 33 markers back from Lawrence, respectively.

Detailed results