News 28 Jan 2023

Team Honda HRC duo Sexton and Lawrence top A2 qualifying

Stage set ahead of first Triple Crown main events of 2023 at Anaheim.

Image: Octopi Media.

Wearing a special livery at Anaheim 2, Team Honda HRC pair Chase Sexton and Jett Lawrence topped Monster Energy Supercross qualifying at Angel Stadium this afternoon.

After leading the way in qualifying one, Sexton extended his advantage as premier class qualifying as the 450SX sessions concluded.

A flying 57.564s lap-time was seven-tenths clear of Jason Anderson’s (Monster Energy Kawasaki) 58.283s, while Ken Roczen (Progressive Insurance Ecstar Suzuki) was third on the charts. Top of the Monster Energy Yamaha Star Racing riders in Q2 was Dylan Ferrandis ahead of teammate and points-leader Eli Tomac, but Tomac’s time from the earlier session was quicker overall.

Off the back of two podiums to open the season, Cooper Webb (Red Bull KTM) was also right there in P6, with Barcia’s time from Q1 placing him seventh, Adam Cianciarulo (Monster Energy Kawasaki) eighth, a resurgent Christian Craig (Rockstar Energy Husqvarna) ninth and Aaron Plessinger (Red Bull KTM) completing the top 10.

Top rookie Colt Nichols (Team Honda HRC) and Joey Savatgy (Rick Ware Racing Kawasaki) were bumped back to 11th and 12th on combined times.

Image: Octopi Media.

In 250SX West, Lawrence went even quicker in the final qualifying session to become the first rider into the 57s all day, his eventual best being a 57.998s, which was 0.844s ahead of Enzo Lopes (Muc-Off FXR ClubMX Yamaha) in Q2.

It was RJ Hampshire’s (Rockstar Energy Husqvarna) time of 58.784s from the earlier session that secured him second on combined times though, ahead of Lopes. Fourth overall was Pierce Brown (TLD Red Bull GasGas), who was one of few riders that lowered their time this afternoon, with Levi Kitchen’s (Monster Energy Yamaha Star Racing) best from earlier positioning him P5.

Sixth was Stilez Robertson (Monster Energy Yamaha Star Racing), followed by Cameron McAdoo (Monster Energy Pro Circuit Kawasaki) due to his time from the first session, Mitchell Oldenburg (Smartop MCR Honda), Maximus Vohland (Red Bull KTM) and Derek Kelley (AJE Motorsports KTM).

Understood to be nursing a shoulder injury, McAdoo did return to the track after crashing in the whoops earlier, only posting a 1m06.119s before the session was out. It’s expected that he will at least attempt to line-up in the first of the Triple Crown races tonight.

Detailed results