News 21 Jan 2023

Stewart and Lawrence lead San Diego Supercross qualifying

Season 2023 resumes with tight times during the afternoon sessions.

Image: Octopi Media.

Qualifying for the San Diego round of 2023 Monster Energy Supercross saw Malcolm Stewart and Jett Lawrence lead the way this afternoon, setting up what will be the second stop of this year’s series.

A late lap from Rockstar Energy Husqvarna’s Stewart saw him rise to the top of the final 450SX qualifying session of the afternoon, lodging a 50.008s lap-time to edge Chase Sexton (Team Honda HRC) by one-tenth of a second upon conclusion.

Double title-winner Cooper Webb (Red Bull KTM) was third on the leaderboard with a 50.118s, while defending champion and current points-leader Eli Tomac (Monster Energy Yamaha Star Racing) stopped the clocks in P4, directly ahead of teammate Dylan Ferrandis.

First session fastest Jason Anderson (Monster Energy Kawasaki) was sixth overall, with Adam Cianciarulo (Monster Energy Kawasaki) and Colt Nichols (Team Honda HRC) also inside the 50s. Filling the top 10 leading into the night show were Ken Roczen (Progressive Insurance Ecstar Suzuki) and Justin Barcia (TLD Red Bull GasGas).

Image: Octopi Media.

Team Honda HRC red plate-holder Jett Lawrence continued his trend as he topped 250SX qualifying with a staggering fast lap of 50.099s in the second and final session.

It was a back-and-forth battle for the top spot with eventual second place qualifier RJ Hampshire (Rockstar Energy Husqvarna), who landed at 50.361s in the end. TLD Red Bull GasGas’ Pierce Brown ended the session inside the top three over seven-tenths back.

Positions four, five and six were Enzo Lopes (Muc-Off FXR ClubMX Yamaha), Levi Kitchen (Monster Energy Yamaha Star Racing) and Cameron McAdoo (Monster Energy Pro Circuit Kawasaki). The top 10 was completed by Stilez Robertson (Monster Energy Yamaha Star Racing), Max Vohland (Red Bull KTM), Derek Kelley (AEO Powersports KTM) and Wilson Todd (Fire Power Honda) from group B.

Detailed results