News 7 Jan 2023

Sexton, Forkner fastest as Anaheim 1 qualifying concludes

Stage set for inaugural SuperMotocross World Championship round.

Image: Octopi Media.

Anaheim 1 qualifying has been topped by Chase Sexton and Austin Forkner ahead of tonight’s opening round of the 2023 Monster Energy Supercross Championship.

Team Honda HRC rider Sexton was the first and only rider of the day to lap beneath a minute in the second 450SX qualifying session with a 59.785s lap-tome.

Sexton ended three tenths clear of defending champion Eli Tomac (Monster Energy Yamaha Star Racing), who has swiftly adapted to the new YZ450F so far in second position.

There were yet further mistakes in the final outing as riders continued to be challenged by the soft, but dry track conditions, including full-time class newcomer Christian Craig (Rockstar Energy Husqvarna) – 14th overall in the end – after he crashed hard in the whoops and managed to resume.

Third was once again convincing from Marvin Musquin (Red Bull KTM), joined inside the top-five by Jason Anderson (Monster Energy Kawasaki) – despite falling once again in the session – and Ken Roczen (Progressive Ecstar Suzuki), who has endured a mixed reunion aboard the RM-Z so far.

P6 was an improved showing from Dylan Ferrandis (Monster Energy Yamaha Star Racing) to cap-off the afternoon, followed by Cooper Webb (Red Bull KTM), Adam Cianciarulo (Monster Energy Kawasaki), Malcolm Stewart (Rockstar Energy Husqvarna) and Aaron Plessinger (Red Bull KTM).

Image: Octopi Media.

Monster Energy Pro Circuit Kawasaki’s Forkner fired the first real shot of the new 250SX West season in qualifying two after posting a benchmark of 1m00.595s, edging Jett Lawrence (Team Honda HRC) after he too put down a late lap to challenge for P1.

As he did earlier in the afternoon, Lawrence fell victim to the conditions and went down early, but quickly remounted to get back on-pace. It wasn’t enough to halt Forkner, however.

Behind them, it was Pierce Brown (TLD Red Bull GasGas) who stepped up early as the first rider into the 1m00s, eventually settling into third position and marginally ahead of RJ Hampshire (Rockstar Energy Husqvarna) in P4.

Fifth came Cameron McAdoo (Monster Energy Pro Circuit Kawasaki) at 1m01.601s, with Levi Kitchen (Monster Energy Yamaha Star Racing) next in line as he again moved up the order following a quiet start to the opener.

The rider who was fastest in Q1, Enzo Lopes (Muc-Off FXR ClubMX Yamaha) was further back in seventh this time out, followed by Max Vohland (Red Bull KTM), Stilez Robertson (Monster Energy Yamaha Star Racing) and Mitchell Oldenburg (Team Honda HRC).

Detailed results