News 22 Oct 2022

Roczen claims title in drama-packed Melbourne WSX finals

Final round overall won by Savatgy at 2022 Australian Grand Prix.

Image: Supplied.

A dramatic second and final round of the 2022 World Supercross Championship (WSX) in Melbourne saw Ken Roczen claim the title in the Australian Grand Prix won by Joey Savatgy.

After winning final one, Honda Genuine Fire Power Honda Racing rider Roczen DNF’d final two with a flat tire, setting up a three-way showdown the the Super Final. In the end, Roczen prevailed, but it was Savatgy with the overall.

A clinical performance from Roczen saw him start his Melbourne final assault on the best foot with a 4.842s win ahead of Savatgy. The Rick Ware Racing rider grabbed the early lead, but was passed by Roczen in the turn before the whoops on the opening lap and was unable to stick with the German.

MotoConcepts Honda pair Brayton and Friese finished third and fourth respectively, ahead of Dean Wilson (Honda Genuine Fire Power Honda Racing) in P5. Sixth to 10th were Jordi Tixier (Honda Nils Racing), Josh Hill (CDR Yamaha Monster Energy), Adrien Escoffier (Bud Racing), Angelo Pellegrini (Honda Nils Racing) and Anthony Bourdon (GSM Yamaha).

Savatgy kept his nose clean to win what was an eventful second final that saw disaster strike Roczen. Roczen grabbed the early lead in the outing and looked set for another victory when he was forced to the pits with a flat tire.

Brayton continued his podium run to cross the line P2, ahead of teammate Friese once more. P4 was Cade Clason (Club MX FXR Yamaha) in a stronger showing, as Bourdon completed the top five.

Former motocross world champion Tixier finished sixth, ahead of Kyle Webster (Honda Genuine Fire Power Honda Racing), Grant Harlan (Club MX FXR Yamaha), Pellegrini and Cedric Soubeyras (Bud Racing). Notably, Wilson and Hill were involved in a multi-bike pile-up with five laps remaining at the corner between the quads.

Following the race two drama, Roczen did what he needed to claim the 2022 WSX Championship as Savatgy took another race win to take the round victory in the Super Final.

With Brayton, Friese and Roczen entering a winner take all bout in the final race for the title, the stakes couldn’t have been higher.

Savatgy moved to the early lead as Roczen worked his way to P2, while both Friese and Brayton were devastatingly involved in a multi-rider pile-up at the first turn on the opening lap.

In the end, Roczen crossed the line 1.495s from the race win, as Hill completed the top three ahead of Wilson. Friese remounted and delivered a spirited charge back to fifth, as the top 10 for the final bout was rounded out by Clason, Soubeyras, Brayton, Tixier and Bourdon.

For the Australian GP, Roczen and Brayton completed the overall podium as Savatgy and Friese were second and third in the championship.

Detailed results