News 13 Aug 2022

Roczen, Lawrence lead Unadilla Pro Motocross qualifying

Qualifying sweep for Team Honda HRC as outdoor season resumes.

Image: Octopi Media.

Team Honda HRC duo Ken Roczen and Jett Lawrence led the way in qualifying as the 2022 Lucas Oil Pro Motocross Championship resumed at Unadilla this morning.

Monster Energy Kawasaki’s Jason Anderson set the high mark in the closing moments of the second 450MX qualifying session with a 2m14.840s, but Ken Roczen’s 2m14.543s from the first session ensured a qualifying sweep of both classes for Team Honda HRC.

Roczen and Anderson were the only two 450 riders to dip into the 2m14s range, with Joey Savatgy (Monster Energy Kawasaki) setting the third-fastest time six-tenths of a second back from Roczen.

Championship rivals Eli Tomac (Monster Energy Yamaha Star Racing) and Chase Sexton (Team Honda HRC) rounded out the top five ahead of returning Monster Energy Yamaha Star Racing rider and reigning class champion Dylan Ferrandis. In their first race back with Rockstar Energy Husqvarna Factory Racing, Malcolm Stewart and Dean Wilson landed 22nd and 23rd, respectively.

Image: Octopi Media.

Carrying a 28-point lead into the season’s ninth round, Lawrence continued to assert his dominance by topping the 250 category in qualifying for the third time in 2022.

The Team Honda HRC rider turned in a 2m12.777s on his final lap, putting an impressive 1.748 seconds between himself and Justin Cooper, who went second fastest for Monster Energy Star Racing Yamaha.

Hunter Lawrence (Team Honda HRC), RJ Hampshire (Rockstar Energy Husqvarna) and Jo Shimoda (Monster Energy Pro Circuit Kawasaki) completed the top five, with Lawrence and Shimoda the only two to improve upon their time from the morning’s first session in the second outing.

Returning from injury, Monster Energy Pro Circuit Kawasaki rider Cameron McAdoo landed 15th on the combined timesheet, six and a half seconds off the session-leading time. Ryder DiFrancesco, fresh off the Monster Energy AMA Amateur National Motocross Championship, was one spot behind McAdoo in 16th.

Detailed results