News 11 Jun 2022

Sexton and Mosiman top Thunder Valley qualifying

The fields are set for the third round of the Pro Motocross Championship.

Image: Octopi Media.

Team Honda HRC’s Chase Sexton and TLD Red Bull GasGas’s Michael Mosiman have put themselves in the box seat at the third round of the Lucas Oil Pro Motocross Championship at Thunder Valley, CO, by qualifying fastest in their classes.

Sexton fired the first salvo of the day by claiming 450MX qualifying honours over hometown hero Eli Tomac (Monster Energy Star Yamaha Racing).

As the Thunder Valley track bedded in, the current points’ leader put in a lap-time of 2m14.509s, which was almost a second quicker than Tomac’s 2m15.397.

Team Honda HRC’s Ken Roczen posted the third-fastest time, ahead of Monster Energy Kawasaki’s Jason Anderson and nine-time World Champion Tony Cairoli (Red Bull KTM).

Joe Savatgy (Monster Energy Kawasaki) and Benny Bloss (BBMX) both put in impressive laps to finish fifth and sixth respectively.

Christian Craig (Monster Energy Star Yamaha Racing), Justin Barcia (TLD Red Bull GasGas) and Aaron Plessinger (Red Bull KTM) rounded out the top 10 gate-pick positions.

Image: Octopi Media.

In the 250MX class, Michael Mosiman claimed pole position ahead of points’ leader Jett Lawrence (Team Honda HRC) in the final qualifying session.

Mosiman’s quickest lap of 2m16.916s was three-tenths of the second quicker than Lawrence’s 2m17.267s, setting the scene for what promises to be a great day of racing.

Hunter Lawrence made it a Team Honda HRC 2-3 with a third-fastest qualifying time, ahead of Monster Energy Pro Circuit Kawasaki’s Seth Hammaker and Monster Energy Star Yamaha Racing rider Justin Cooper.

Cooper’s team-mate, Nate Thrasher, finished the qualifying session in sixth.

Rockstar Energy Husqvarna pairing Stilez Robertson and Jalek Swoll clocked the seventh- and eighth-quickest times, while Max Vohland (Red Bull KTM) and Levi Kitchen (Monster Energy Star Yamaha Racing) completed the top 10.

Detailed results