News 11 Jun 2022

Consistent Jett Lawrence secures 250MX overall at Thunder Valley

Rookie Levi Kitchen and older brother Hunter Lawrence claim moto wins.

Image: Octopi Media.

Lucas Oil Pro Motocross series leader Jett Lawrence has claimed his third consecutive 250MX overall with a consistent 2-2 result at Thunder Valley.

The Team Honda HRC rider finished behind Levi Kitchen (Monster Energy Star Yamaha Racing) and Hunter Lawrence (Team Honda HRC) in both motos to take the overall win.

Rookie Levi Kitchen broke through for his first-ever Pro Motocross victory with a wire-to-wire win in the opening 250MX race.

Kitchen grabbed the holeshot and never looked back as he sailed to a nine-second victory over  Jett Lawrence, who tried to put in a charge early before settling for P2.

Kitchen’s Monster Energy Star Yamaha Racing team-mate, Justin Cooper, finished the race on the podium.

Team Honda HRC’s Hunter Lawrence overcame an average start (he was ninth on the first lap) to cross the line in fourth, ahead of Seth Hammaker (Monster Energy Pro Circuit Kawasaki) and a fast-starting Stilez Robertson (Rockstar Energy Husqvarna).

Jo Shimoda (Monster Energy Pro Circuit Kawasaki) finished seventh, as Nate Thrasher and Nicholas Romano ensured Monster Energy Star Yamaha Racing finished with four riders in the top 10.

P10 was claimed by Matthew Leblanc (Yamaha).

Fastest-qualifier Michael Mosiman (TLD Red Bull GasGas) finished 13th after enduring two crashes during the race.

Hunter Lawrence showed exactly what he can do with a good start after a comfortable five-second win over his little brother, Jett Lawrence in the second 250MX race.

The elder Lawrence scored the holeshot and was never challenged as he clicked off fast, consecutive laps to take his first Pro Motocross victory of 2022.

Jett was able to make a quick pass on Cooper early in the race to secure his third overall of the season with a consistent 2-2 result from the two motos.

Cooper would finish the race in third; despite surrendering that position to Mosiman for a number of laps, the Yamaha rider was able to remount an attack and ensure he finished on the round podium.

First-moto winner, Levi Kitchen, recovered to finish fifth after getting caught in a big early crash that took down Nate Thrasher and Seth Hammaker.

Shimoda, Robertson, Max Vohland (Red Bull KTM), Matt Leblanc and privateer Derek Kelley (KTM) completed the top 10.

In the title hunt, Jett Lawrence retains a 12-point lead over Hunter, with Shimoda a further 16 points behind as the series heads to High Point next weekend.

Detailed results