News 28 May 2022

Sexton, Hammaker lead Fox Raceway Pro Motocross qualifying

Stage set for opening motos of the new outdoor season.

Image: Octopi Media.

Qualifying is complete at Fox Raceway’s 2022 Lucas Oil Pro Motocross Championship opener, with Chase Sexton and Seth Hammaker leading the way so far.

While the likes of Ryan Dungey and Tony Cairoli stole much of the limelight coming in, it was Team Honda HRC’s Sexton who stamped his authority on 450MX in qualifying to lead the way in both sessions.

Sexton’s benchmark of 2m12.333s was set in the final outing this morning ahead of teammate Ken Roczen – the pair aboard 50th Anniversary Edition CRF450Rs today – however, there was near a full second that separated the pair.

Supercross champion Eli Tomac (Monster Energy Star Racing Yamaha) is here despite his recovering MCL and went third on combined times, as Jason Anderson (Monster Energy Kawasaki) and Red Bull KTM guest Cairoli were fourth and fifth, respectively.

Sixth was solid from new 250SX West champion Christian Craig (Monster Energy Star Racing Yamaha) in moving back up to the premier class outdoors, following by another Red Bull KTM in Dungey, Justin Barcia (TLD Red Bull GasGas), newcomer Garrett Marchbanks (Muc-Off FXR ClubMX Yamaha) and Benny Bloss (BBMX KTM).

Notably just outside the top 10 were Shane McElrath in his first appearance with Rockstar Energy Husqvarna and Aaron Plessinger (Red Bull KTM) on return from injury.

Image: Octopi Media.

It was Monster Energy Pro Circuit Kawasaki’s Hammaker who topped 250MX qualifying to open the season, his time from the first session enough to go fastest of all.

Hammaker’s 2m13.063s was a few tenths clear of Hunter Lawrence (Team Honda HRC), with RJ Hampshire also in the 13s for third position on combined times.

Despite being atop the final session with a late flying lap, defending champion Jett Lawrence (Team Honda HRC) was fourth overall, almost a full second clear of Cameron McAdoo (Monster Energy Pro Circuit Kawasaki).

The top 10 was completed by Justin Cooper (Monster Energy Star Racing Yamaha), Michael Mosiman (TLD Red Bull GasGas), Levi Kitchen (Monster Energy Star Racing Yamaha) as the first to better his time in qualifying two, Jo Shimoda (Monster Energy Pro Circuit Kawasaki) and Austin Forkner (Monster Energy Pro Circuit Kawasaki).

Detailed results