News 30 Apr 2022

Sexton and Lawrence top qualifying at Denver

The field is set for the penultimate round of the Supercross season.

Image: Octopi Media.

Team Honda HRC put its two racers on top of the qualifying timesheets at the penultimate round of the Monster Energy AMA Supercross Championship at Denver, with Chase Sexton and Hunter Lawrence posting the fastest lap-times at Empower Field at Mile High.

Sexton lodged the quickest 450SX lap at the high altitude round at Denver, with his time of 44.624s edging four rivals who pushed the lap-times down into the 44-second range.

Sexton’s time narrowly beating Eli Tomac’s (Monster Energy Star Yamaha Racing) time of 44.677s, as Tomac eyes up wrapping the 2022 championship at his home round.

Monster Energy Kawasaki’s Jason Anderson finished third, despite crashing while on a charge on the final lap, ahead of Red Bull KTM pairing Marvin Musquin and Cooper Webb.

Justin Brayton (SmarTop Bullfrog Spas Motoconcepts Honda) will get sixth pick of the starting gate for the night show, as Rockstar Energy Husqvarna’s Malcolm Stewart finished the session in seventh.

Positions eight through 10 were filled by Alex Martin (Muc-Off FXR ClubMX Yamaha), Justin Barcia (TLD Red Bull GasGas) and Justin Bogle (Twisted Tea HEP Motorsports Suzuki).

Image: Octopi Media.

Hunter Lawrence, set the fastest lap time in the 250SX class after a fascinating duel with Monster Energy Star Yamaha Racing’s red plate-holder Christian Craig.

The pair regularly went back and forth throughout the second session as the lap times dropped from the 47-second mark to 45 seconds.

By the end of the 10 minutes, Lawrence had posted a 42.252s time, ahead of Craig’s 45.405s, setting the scene for an entertaining night show.

Muc-Off FXR ClubMX Yamaha’s Garrett Marchbanks put in an impressive final lap to jump into third, ahead of Jo Shimoda (Monster Energy Pro Circuit Kawasaki) and Michael Mosiman (TLD Red Bull GasGas).

Positions sixth through to 10th were filled by Vince Friese (SmarTop Bullfrog Spas Motoconcepts Honda), Jalek Swoll (Rockstar Energy Husqvarna Racing), Nate Thrasher (Monster Energy Star Yamaha Racing), Chris Blose (GasGas) and Carson Mumford (BarX Chaparral Ecstar Suzuki).

Detailed results