News 23 Apr 2022

Sexton and Forkner on top after Foxborough qualifying

The field is set for the 15th round of the Supercross season.

Image: Octopi Media.

Honda HRC racer Chase Sexton and Monster Energy Pro Circuit Kawasaki’s Austin Forkner have set the fastest qualifying times inside Gillette Stadium, as the 15th round of the 2022 Monster Energy Supercross Championship gets under way at Foxborough.

Chase Sexton stormed to the top of the qualifying charts on the last lap of qualifying, as he became the only rider to drop beneath the 50-second lap-time benchmark.

Sexton’s late charge saw Monster Energy Kawasaki’s Jason Anderson’s 50.316s lap-time get down nudged to second-fastest, while Rockstar Energy Husqvarna Racing’s Malcolm Stewart finished third-quickest.

Red Bull KTM’s Marvin Musquin finished the timed session in fourth, ahead of championship leader, Eli Tomac (Monster Energy Star Yamaha Racing), who has a chance to wrap up the 2022 450SX title later today.

Defending champion Cooper Web (Red Bull KTM), ended the session in sixth, ahead of Justin Barcia (TLD Red Bull GasGas), SmarTop Bullfrog Spas Motoconcepts Honda pairing Justin Brayton and Vince Friese, and Brandon Hartranft (Twisted Team HEP Motorsports Suzuki).

Image: Octopi Media.

Kawasaki’s Austin Forkner set the fastest qualifying time of the 250SX East field around the marbly, technical Foxborough circuit.

After an enthralling back-and-forth with series leader Jett Lawrence (Honda HRC), Forkner set a 50.649s lap time, compared to Lawrence’s 50.947s.

RJ Hampshire (Rockstar Energy Husqvarna Racing) rounded out third, followed by TLD Red Bull GasGas rider Pierce Brown, with Mitchell Oldenburg (SmarTop Bullfrog Spas Motoconcepts Honda) rounding out the top five.

Enzo Lopes (Muc-Off FXR ClubMX Yamaha), Kyle Chisholm (Monster Energy Star Yamaha Racing), Jordon Smith (Fire Power Honda), Jace Owen (Muc-Off FXR ClubMX Yamaha) and Jarrett Frye (Fire Power Honda) completed the top 10 positions.

Detailed results