News 12 Mar 2022

Stewart and Lawrence top qualifying timesheets in Detroit

Benchmarks set for the 10th round of Supercross inside Ford Field.

Image: Octopi Media.

It was Malcolm Stewart and Jett Lawrence who qualified fastest in 450SX and 250SX East respectively for the 10th round of 2022 Monster Energy Supercross in Detroit.

For the second-straight week, Rockstar Energy Husqvarna Factory Racing’s Stewart has gone fastest in 450SX qualifying, posting a blistering 43.568s time to top the timesheets.

Chase Sexton – the sole Team Honda HRC 450SX contender following Ken Roczen’s indefinite withdrawal from the series – took his CRF450R to second with a time of 43.701s, while former champion Jason Anderson (Monster Energy Kawasaki Factory Racing) was just a fraction behind in third, recording his quickest lap of 43.716s.

Monster Energy Yamaha Star Racing duo Eli Tomac and Dylan Ferrandis were fourth and fifth respectively, followed by Marvin Musquin (Red Bull KTM Factory Racing), Cooper Webb (Red Bull KTM Factory Racing), Dean Wilson (Rockstar Energy Husqvarna Factory Racing), Justin Barcia (TLD Red Bull GasGas Factory Racing) and Justin Brayton (Smartop Bullfrog Spas MCR Honda).

Image: Octopi Media.

250SX East championship leader Jett Lawrence (Team Honda HRC) continued to assert his authority in the category, topping the timesheets by lodging the fastest lap of 43.856s.

TLD Red Bull GasGas Factory Racing’s Peirce Brown was impressive with a 44.170s to slot himself behind Lawrence in second, while the top three was completed by Cameron McAdoo (Monster Energy Pro Circuit Kawasaki) with a quick-time of 44.480s.

Jordon Smith (Fire Power Honda Racing) and RJ Hampshire (Rockstar Energy Husqvarna Factory Racing) were fourth and fifth fastest respectively, as the top 10 was rounded out by Enzo Lopes (Muc-Off FXR ClubMX Racing Team), Mitchell Oldenburg (Smartop Bullfrog Spas MCR Honda), Stilez Robertson (Rockstar Energy Husqvarna Factory Racing), Kyle Chisholm – who was on debut with Monster Energy Star Yamaha Racing – and Jace Owen (Muc-Off FXR ClubMX Racing Team).