News 22 Jan 2022

Anderson and Craig top charts in San Diego qualifying

Form continues for last week's main event winners ahead of night show.

Image: Octopi Media.

Last week’s winners Jason Anderson (Monster Energy Kawasaki) and Monster Energy Star Racing Yamaha rider Christian Craig have qualified fastest on combined times in San Diego for round three of 2022 Monster Energy Supercross.

A final lap flier from Anderson saw him maintain his place atop the 450SX rankings in qualifying two this afternoon, dislodging Dylan Ferrandis (Monster Energy Star Racing Yamaha) in the final moments with a 47.896s lap-time.

Behind him, Ferrandis was just 0.070s back in second, as Chase Sexton (Team Honda HRC) was next best followed by Marvin Musquin (Red Bull KTM), Malcolm Stewart (Rockstar Energy Husqvarna) and Ken Roczen (Team Honda HRC) all at 48.3s and within half a second of Anderson at the front.

Seventh in the order was Adam Cianciarulo (Monster Energy Kawasaki) – notably quickest in free practice earlier – and followed by Justin Brayton (Smartop Bullfrog Spas MCR Honda) on return, Eli Tomac (Monster Energy Star Racing Yamaha) and Max Anstie (Rocky Mountain ATV/MC KTM WPS), who in turn was ahead of teammate Shane McElrath.

There was a who’s who of big-name riders further back, number one plate-holder Cooper Webb (Red Bull KTM) in 12th, Justin Barcia (TLD Red Bull GasGas) with the red plate in 13th and last week podium-finisher Aaron Plessinger (Red Bull KTM) down in 14th position for the afternoon.

Image: Octopi Media.

250SX West saw Craig consistently improve in the final session to record the eventual benchmark of 48.126s, however this time around Hunter Lawrence (Team Honda HRC) also gradually improved to within 0.376s.

TLD Red Bull GasGas rider Michael Mosiman was also closer to Craig this time around, the final rider within a second of P1 in qualifying, with Garrett Marchbanks (Muc-Off FXR ClubMX Yamaha) and Jo Shimoda (Monster Energy Pro Circuit Kawasaki filling the top five.

Ever-present veteran Chris Blose (AJE Motorsport Motul GasGas) was once again solid in qualifying two, as he has been all day, edging factory duo Jalek Swoll (Rockstar Energy Husqvarna) on return and Nate Thrasher (Monster Energy Star Racing Yamaha).

The top 10 was rounded out by Vince Friese (Smartop Bullfrog Spas MCR Honda) and Derek Kelley (AEO Powersports KTM), who again impressed via his time in the B session.

Detailed results