News 15 Jan 2022

Tomac and Craig lead the way in Oakland qualifying

Strong afternoon for Monster Energy Star Racing Yamaha team.

Image: Octopi Media.

Monster Energy Star Racing Yamaha duo Eli Tomac and Christian Craig led the way in qualifying this afternoon at Oakland’s second round of 2022 Monster Energy Supercross.

It was a Star Yamaha 1-2 in 450SX qualifying today, Tomac topping both timed sessions this afternoon and setting a final benchmark of 59.108s.

Tomac was able to piece the entire track together including both sets of whoops, marginally ahead of teammate Dylan Ferrandis at 59.180s. Number one plate-holder Cooper Webb (Red Bull KTM) was stronger than usual in practice with third position, right there at 59.256s.

After that came Jason Anderson (Monster Energy Kawasaki), Marvin Musquin (Red Bull KTM), Malcolm Stewart (Rockstar Energy Husqvarna) and Adam Cianciarulo (Monster Energy Kawasaki) all beneath the 1m00s marker.

Opening round winner Ken Roczen went down at the beginning of the session in the whoops and was struck by Team Honda HRC teammate Chase Sexton, but managed to remount and put in a time for ninth overall, while Sexton went down in the whoops later, but wound up P8 courtesy of his time in Q1.

Ninth and 10th in the final outing were Dean Wilson (Rockstar Energy Husqvarna) and Shane McElrath (Rocky Mountain ATV/MC KTM WPS), respectively, bumped back a position once Sexton’s earlier lap was slotted in.

Image: Octopi Media.

The second and final 250SX qualifier was topped by red plate-holder Craig – the first rider all day to go beneath the one-minute barrier – with a 59.510s, placing him comfortably ahead of Michael Mosiman (TLD Red Bull GasGas).

After leading the way in Q1, Mosiman was 0.792s behind Craig, in turn almost half a second up on Nate Thrasher (Monster Energy Star Racing Yamaha). He and Seth Hammaker (Monster Energy Pro Circuit Kawasaki) were both at 1m00.7s, as Hunter Lawrence (Team Honda HRC) climbed to fifth this afternoon.

Next best was Jo Shimoda (Monster Energy Pro Circuit Kawasaki), who will be looking to turn his fortunes around this evening, trailed by Garrett Marchbanks (Muc-Off FXR ClubMX Yamaha) after he missed much of the opening session earlier in the day.

The top 10 was completed by Chris Blose (AJE Motorsport Motul GasGas), Vince Friese (Smartop Bullfrog Spas MCR Honda) and Robbie Wageman (Team Solitaire Nuclear Blast Yamaha).

Detailed results