News 28 Aug 2021

Ironman qualifying topped by Ferrandis and Lawrence

The field is set for round 10 of the Pro Motocross season.

Image: Octopi Media.

The 10th round of the Lucas Oil Pro Motocross season is underway and qualifying was dominated by Dylan Ferrandis in the 450MX class and Jett Lawrence in the 250MX class.

The already hot and muggy conditions in Indiana saw the top riders in both classes lead the field by over a second from their competitors as the day got underway at Ironman.

Ferrandis found his way to the top of the timesheets near the end of the session, setting the fastest lap of the day with a 1m58.267s lap time. The current points leader waited for a clear track near the end of the session to take first gate pick, as he looks to maintain his 39 point lead in the championship today.

Second place in the session went to Eli Tomac (Monster Energy Kawasaki), who was just over a full second back after logging a 1m59.313s lap. Tomac is still searching for his first overall of the season as he currently sits in third place overall in the series standings.

Ferrandis’ title rival Ken Roczen (Team Honda HRC) was third place just two tenths back from Tomac. Roczen put up a solid fight for the overall win last weekend, trading 1-2 finishes with Ferrandis in his bid to gain points on the red-plate holder.

Joey Savatgy continued his great run of form aboard his Rocky Mountain ATV/MC KTM, finishing the session fourth fastest. Savatgy’s plans for next season have yet to be confirmed, so he’ll be after another solid result in round 10.

Fifth place was Cooper Webb (Red Bull KTM) as he continues his consistency from the last few rounds that saw him hovering near the top five, the reigning 450SX champ still searching for his first podium ride of the season.

Sixth fastest on the day was Chase Sexton (Team Honda HRC) with a 2m00.553s as his fastest lap. Sexton ran up front last week at Budds Creek and is looking to take at least one overall victory before the season ends in two weeks time.

Aaron Plessinger returned to the track after bowing out in the opening moto last weekend with injuries he sustained in a crash at Unadilla. The Ohio native was the first rider in the 2m01s range with his 2m01.442s lap.

Savatgy’s teammate Justin Bogle put in another solid qualifying session, ending up eighth, with Brandon Hartranft (Twisted Tea HEP Suzuki) and Coty Schock (FXR Chaparral Honda) putting in solid rides to round out the top 10.

Image: Octopi Media.

In 250MX action, Jett Lawrence dominated both sessions of the day aboard his Team Honda HRC 250. Lawrence was over three seconds faster than the competition in the final session but his time of 2m00.367s from the opening session put him atop the leader board.

Lawrence is just three points behind Justin Cooper (Monster Energy Star Racing Yamaha) in the championship as he looks to close the gap and regain the red plate in today’s race.

Second place was last week’s overall winner Jeremy Martin (Monster Energy Star Racing Yamaha), his fastest lap from the first session of 2m01.453s giving him second gate pick. Martin is a distant third in the championship currently as he continues to chase wins through the rest of the season.

Cooper rounded out the top three via his time in the first session. The Monster Energy Star Racing Yamaha rider was nearly seven seconds back in the second session, leaving an interesting story to follow in the opening moto for the points leader.

Monster Energy Pro Circuit Kawasaki rider Jo Shimoda ended the session in fourth place. Shimoda searching for another podium after his second overall at Southwick. Rounding out the top five was RJ Hampshire, with a 2m02.603s lap.

Shimoda’s teammate Austin Forkner landed sixth in the morning sessions, Forkner continuing to find momentum after a rough start to his return to the series for the first time since 2018.

Rookie standout Levi Kitchen (Monster Energy Star Racing Yamaha) ended his fourth ever qualifying sessions in seventh place as the first rider in the 2m03s range, with Michael Mosiman (TLD Red Bull GasGas) just behind him in his return to the series following injury.

Dilan Schwartz put his BarX Chaparral Suzuki in ninth with Jalek Swoll (Rockstar Energy Husqvarna) rounding out the top 10. Hunter Lawrence (Team Honda HRC) ended the sessions in eleventh.

Detailed results