News 2 Feb 2021

Points-leaders Roczen and Nichols top Indy 2 qualifying

The second 'SuperTuesday' of 2021 is underway from Lucas Oil Stadium.

Image: Octopi Media

Points leaders Ken Roczen and Colt Nichols have continued their great form from Saturday, topping the timesheets from qualifying at the fourth round.

Roczen topped the time-sheets in the 450SX class with a 46.186s aboard his Team Honda HRC CRF450, followed by Eli Tomac (Monster Energy Kawasaki) who clocked a 46.316s in second place. Adam Cianciarulo took the last spot in the top three, just 0.192s back from his teammate.

Rocky Mountain ATV/MC KTM rider Joey Savatgy managed his best qualifying result of the season with a fourth place as Malcolm Stewart (Monster Energy Star Racing Yamaha) took the final spot in the top five with a 46.786s. Justin Brayton was the last rider in the 46s range with a 46.835s in sixth.

You could throw a blanket over the remaining riders in the top 10, who were all separated by 0.235s. The Red Bull KTM duo of Cooper Webb and Marvin Musquin went seventh and eighth with the final two spots in the top 10 going to Zach Osborne (Rockstar Energy Husqvarna) and Dylan Ferrandis (Monster Energy Star Racing Yamaha), with Ferrandis logging a 47.268s.

Unfortunately Jason Anderson was not able to continue on in the second qualifying session after suffering an injury to his right hand and is likely out for the evening.

Image: Octopi Media

As the checkered flag came out for the final 250 East coast qualifying session it was Colt Nichols (Monster Energy Star Racing Yamaha) at the top of the time sheets with a 46.624s.

The only other rider in the 46s range was Team Honda HRC rider Jett Lawrence in the second spot, who left the session early after a crash in the whoops and an apparent injury to his nose.

Third place went to TLD Red Bull GasGas rider Michael Mosiman who continues to build momentum after a podium last week. Christian Craig (Monster Energy Star Racing Yamaha) found himself in fourth at the end of the session with a 47.088s, followed by Jo Shimoda (Monster Energy Pro Circuit Kawasaki) who rounded out the top five.

Mitchell Oldenburg (Muc-Off Honda) ended the session in the sixth spot with Max Miller (KTM) and Josh Osby (Honda) just behind. Thomas Do (KTM) logged a 48.922s for ninth and Curren Thurman (Kawasaki) rounded out the top 10 with a 48.953s.

Detailed Results