News 10 Oct 2020

Sexton and Cooper top Fox Raceway qualifying overall

Stage is set for final round of the Pro Motocross championship.

Image: Octopi Media.

Team Honda HRC’s Chase Sexton has qualified fastest for the fourth time this season in the 2020 Lucas Oil Pro Motocross finals at Fox Raceway, as Justin Cooper led 250MX.

Sexton recorded a 1m53.682s at the Southern California circuit to go quickest over Adam Cianciarulo (Monster Energy Kawasaki) and the in-form Christian Craig (Team Honda HRC).

In fourth on the charts to begin the round was Marvin Musquin (Red Bull KTM) and Zach Osborne (Rockstar Energy Husqvarna), who is in line to clinch his maiden premier class crown today.

Positions six through 10 were filled by Broc Tickle (Monster Energy Yamaha), Justin Bogle (Team Rocky Mountain ATV/MC KTM WPS), Justin Barcia (Monster Energy Yamaha), Fredrik Noren (JGRMX Yoshimura Suzuki) and Max Anstie (Twisted Tea HEP Motorsports Suzuki).

Defending champion Eli Tomac (Monster Energy Kawasaki) was an uncharacteristic 11th, while out for today are Joey Savatgy (JGRMX Yoshimura Suzuki), Noren with a leg injury and also Barcia, still not 100 percent.

Image: Octopi Media.

In the 250 Class, Monster Energy Star Racing Yamaha’s Cooper posted a 1m54.381s in the second session, almost a full second faster than red plate-holder Dylan Ferrandis.

Matching Ferrandis’ time was title rival Jeremy Martin (Geico Honda), leading teammate Jett Lawrence and Brandon Hartranft (Troy Lee Designs Red Bull KTM).

Next was newcomer Jarrett Frye (Monster Energy Star Racing Yamaha), followed by Shane McElrath (Monster Energy Star Racing Yamaha), Jo Shimoda (Geico Honda), Nate Thrasher (Monster Energy Star Racing Yamaha) and Cameron McAdoo (Monster Energy Pro Circuit Kawasaki).

There were yet more injuries in the lower tier, with Hunter Lawrence (Geico Honda) ruled out after further injuring his shoulder and Alex Martin (JGRMX Yoshimura Suzuki) suffering a fractured lower leg during practice.

Detailed results