Features 10 Oct 2020

Racefeed: 2020 Pro Motocross Rd9 Fox Raceway

Direct updates from round nine of the outdoor season in Pala.

It’s championship day in Lucas Oil Pro Motocross at Fox Raceway, as points-leaders Zach Osborne (Rockstar Energy Husqvarna) and Dylan Ferrandis (Monster Energy Star Racing Yamaha) look to clinch the 2020 titles. Earlier, Chase Sexton (Team Honda HRC) and Justin Cooper (Monster Energy Star Racing Yamaha) topped qualifying.

Image: Octopi Media.

250MX moto one:
The opening 250MX moto was a thriller, with Geico Honda rookie Jett Lawrence able to break through for his first moto win. The opening six laps were led by top qualifier Justin Cooper (Monster Energy Star Racing Yamaha) before Lawrence took charge, but it wasn’t over yet. Red plate-holder Dylan Ferrandis (Monster Energy Star Racing Yamaha) and title rival Jeremy Martin (Geico Honda) quickly closed on the leaders and, with just five laps to go, Ferrandis made his way into P2 and stalked Lawrence all the way to the end. It wasn’t to be though, the teenager remaining composed and forcing Ferrandis to wait until the final moto if he’s to clinch this year’s crown. So in the end, it was Lawrence ahead of Ferrandis by 3.584s, followed by Cooper, Martin and Shane McElrath (Monster Energy Star Racing Yamaha). Sixth through 10th were Mitchell Harrison (Monster Energy Pro Circuit Kawasaki), Jarrett Frye (Monster Energy Star Racing Yamaha), Jo Shimoda (Geico Honda), Cameron McAdoo (Monster Energy Pro Circuit Kawasaki) – racing with broken fingers – and Carson Mumford (Geico Honda).

450MX moto one:
The late-season surge of defending champion Eli Tomac (Monster Energy Kawasaki) continued in moto one as he put on a charge to pass teammate Adam Cianciarulo in the closing minutes. It was Marvin Musquin (Red Bull KTM) who led his share of laps at the beginning before Cianciarulo took over at the front, on track to win the race until Tomac stormed by. It was a Kawasaki 1-2 in the end, split by 3.416s, and Chase Sexton (Team Honda HRC) completed the podium after fending off an attack from teammate Christian Craig. After scoring the hole-shot, points-leader Zach Osborne (Rockstar Energy Husqvarna) was fifth to maintain his title lead, with the top 10 filled by Musquin, Justin Bogle (Rocky Mountain ATV/MC KTM WPS), Broc Tickle (Monster Energy Yamaha), Max Anstie (Twisted Tea HEP Motorsports Suzuki) and Jake Masterpool (Invictus Speed Crew Husqvarna).

250MX moto two:
It was a commanding performance from Martin in the second 250MX moto to cap-off the season, winning by 18.337s, however, fifth was enough for Ferrandis to clinch his first outdoor crown and a runner-up result handed Lawrence the overall. In a fairytale send-off for the departing Geico Honda team, Martin, Lawrence and Shimoda made it a Factory Connection 1-2-3 in the final encounter, followed by McElrath and Ferrandis. Sixth was another strong showing for Frye, followed by Hartranft, Mumford, Harrison and Nate Thrasher (Monster Energy Star Racing Yamaha). Overall for the round it was Lawrence on the top step of the podium with Martin and Ferrandis, while in terms of the championship, Ferrandis ended 13 points clear of Martin, as McElrath claimed third and Lawrence climbed the order into P4.

450MX moto two:
Moto two was all about the championship and a conservative Osborne did what he had to do to make it his and Husqvarna’s first 450MX title. While Sexton charged to breakthrough moto and overall wins at the front, Osborne crossed the line in seventh to seal the crown. It was a Honda 1-2 at the front as Sexton topped Craig, while longtime leader Cianciarulo made a mistake and went down with seven minutes remaining as he was put under pressure by Sexton and costing him any chance of the overall. Fourth this time out was earlier winner Tomac, trailed by Musquin, Anstie, Osborne, Bogle, Tickle and Coty Schock (FXR Chaparral Honda), debuting the 2021 CRF450R. For the round, Sexton was the winner ahead of Tomac and Cianciarulo, but it was all Osborne for the championship, carrying a 12-point advantage over Cianciarulo, with Tomac third at season’s end.