News 3 Oct 2020

Cianciarulo and Cooper fastest in Colorado qualifying

Stage set for penultimate round of the 2020 Pro Motocross series.

Image: Octopi Media.

Monster Energy Kawasaki’s Adam Cianciarulo controlled 450MX qualifying, as Justin Cooper led the way in 250MX at the penultimate round of 2020 Lucas Oil Pro Motocross in Colorado.

A flying 2m05.336s in the second session saw Cianciarulo a full second faster than Blake Baggett (Rocky Mountain ATV/MC KTM WPS), who led the slower morning session.

It was Team Honda HRC duo Chase Sexton and Christian Craig in third and fourth positions, with Marvin Musquin (Red Bull KTM) completing the top five on combined times.

Defending champion Eli Tomac (Monster Energy Kawasaki) was sixth, directly ahead of points-leader Zach Osborne (Rockstar Energy Husqvarna), who will look to take one step closer toward a first premier class crown this weekend.

Completing the top 10 was Justin Barcia (Monster Energy Yamaha), Justin Bogle (Rocky Mountain ATV/MC KTM WPS) and Broc Tickle (Monster Energy Yamaha) on return after he sat out last weekend’s round.

Image: Octopi Media.

As expected, there was a stack of Monster Energy Star Racing Yamahas at the front of the 250 Class, led by Cooper’s 2m07.574s lap-time set in the opening session.

Behind Cooper was teammate Shane McElrath and then red plate-holder Dylan Ferrandis, who was atop the charts in the second session of the day.

First of the non-YZ250Fs was RJ Hampshire (Rockstar Energy Husqvarna) in fourth, followed by title prospect Jeremy Martin (Geico Honda), who will need to finish ahead of Ferrandis today if he’s to maintain pressure into the finals.

Positions six through 10 were Hunter Lawrence (Geico Honda), Jarrett Frye (Monster Energy Star Racing Yamaha), debutant Nate Thrasher (Monster Energy Star Racing Yamaha), Carson Mumford (Geico Honda) and Brandon Hartranft (TLD Red Bull KTM).

Detailed results