News 4 Sep 2020

Perfect score at RedBud 1 earns Martin 250MX points-lead

Pivotal result for Geico Honda rider puts him in championship lead.

Image: Octopi Media.

Geico Honda’s Jeremy Martin has taken the 250MX red plates in the 2020 Lucas Oil Pro Motocross Championship following a clean-sweep at RedBud 1.

The opening moto of 250MX was won by Martin as he collected his second in a row, following on from Ironman a week ago, working his way into the lead on lap 10.

He would go on to win by 4.843s over RJ Hampshire (Rockstar Energy Husqvarna) and Ty Masterpool (Monster Energy Star Racing Yamaha), who led more than half of the moto after pulling the holeshot.

Masterpool was able to keep Jett Lawrence (Geico Honda) at bay, with Cameron McAdoo (Monster Energy Pro Circuit Kawasaki) filling the top five.

Positions six through 10 included Alex Martin (JGRMX Yoshimura Suzuki), Dylan Ferrandis (Monster Energy Star Racing Yamaha), Shane McElrath (Monster Energy Star Racing Yamaha), Justin Cooper (Monster Energy Star Racing Yamaha) and the returning Darian Sanayei (Monster Energy Pro Circuit Kawasaki), who had been inside the top three early.

Ferrandis went down on the opening lap, again forced into damage limitation mode by charging back up the order to seventh at the conclusion of the moto.

Making it a 1-1 for his second round win in a row, Martin increased the pressure on Ferrandis in the race for this championship by taking the red plates in the process. Martin stalked McElrath through the opening portion of the race before striking just prior to halfway and then going on to win by 4.815s, with Ferrandis charging to third.

The latter climbed through the order to steal a podium from a gritty Alex Martin on the final lap, followed by Hampshire, Cooper, McAdoo, Jett Lawrence, Brandon Hartranft (TLD Red Bull KTM) and Hunter Lawrence (Geico Honda) in a season-best result.

Overall, Jeremy Martin stood atop the podium from Hampshire and McElrath, with Martin now leading the standings by 12 points ahead of Ferrandis – P4 today – entering round five of the 2020 championship at RedBud 2 on Monday, 7 September.

Detailed results