Features 22 Aug 2020

Racefeed: 2020 Pro Motocross Rd2 Loretta Lynn's

Direct updates from round two of the outdoor season in Tennessee.

Follow round two of the 2020 Lucas Oil Pro Motocross Championship with direct updates from round two of the season at Loretta Lynn’s, where Marvin Musquin (Red Bull KTM) led 450MX qualifying and Dylan Ferrandis (Monster Energy Star Yamaha) topped 250MX earlier this morning.

Image: Octopi Media.

250MX moto one:
Track conditions worsened prior to the opening motos and, as the gates dropped, it was Shane McElrath (Monster Energy Star Racing Yamaha) who got out front early before Alex Martin (JGRMX Yoshimura Suzuki) stormed past almost immediately. His time at the front was short-lived, however, going down and returning the lead to McElrath, who then encountered misfortune of his own when stalling his YZ250F and unable to restart for some time. That enabled Cameron McAdoo (Monster Energy Pro Circuit Kawasaki) to hit the front momentarily, until eventual winner RJ Hampshire (Rockstar Energy Husqvarna) took charge and went on to win by 9.879s. Behind him came red plate-holder Dylan Ferrandis (Monster Energy Star Yamaha), who recovered from a fall and pit-stop for fresh goggles, and Jeremy Martin (Geico Honda) was third, over a minute outside of the lead. McAdoo crossed the line in P4, with Carson Mumford (Geico Honda) solid for fifth. Six through 10th were Mitchell Harrison (Monster Energy Pro Circuit Kawasaki), Alex Martin, McElrath, Pierce Brown (TLD Red Bull KTM) and Gared Steinke (KTM). One notable non-finisher was Hunter Lawrence (Geico Honda), reportedly dislocating his shoulder after running fourth in the opening laps, while brother Jett struck trouble when inside the top 10 during the latter stages.

450MX moto one:
There was no denying Justin Barcia (Monster Energy Yamaha) victory in the first 450MX moto of the day, putting himself into position early and powering away from the chasing pack. He picked up his first race win of the year outdoors by 48.535s even though he dropped the bike on the final lap, crossing the finish ahead of new teammate Broc Tickle as he made it a 1-2 for the factory YZ450Fs. In third, despite stopping for goggles on lap one, was Adam Cianciarulo (Monster Energy Kawasaki), followed by Fredrik Noren (JGRMX Yoshimura Suzuki) and points-leader Zach Osborne (Rockstar Energy Husqvarna) in fifth. Next came Chase Sexton (Team Honda HRC), Jake Masterpool (Husqvarna), top qualifier Marvin Musquin (Red Bull KTM), Eli Tomac (Monster Energy Kawasaki) and Christian Craig (Team Honda HRC), who had been challenging for a podium earlier on in the moto. Defending champion Tomac’s bike stopped on the final lap, but he was still credited ninth since he’d lapped into the top 10 prior to his troubles and salvaged valuable points as a result.

250MX moto two:
It was an all-Martin affair in the second outing, with the rain holding off despite drops falling on the start-line, as Alex Martin went on to take a controlled victory by over a full minute from elder brother Jeremy, which sealed him the round win. A fast-starting McElrath took third place, while points-leader Ferrandis overcame an opening lap crash to climb all the way back from outside of the top 20 to fourth. It was another strong effort from McAdoo in fifth, followed by Justin Cooper (Monster Energy Star Racing Yamaha), rookie Stilez Robertson (Rockstar Energy Husqvarna), Lance Kobusch (KTM), Derek Drake (TLD Red Bull KTM) and Harrison. Jeremy Martin’s CRF250R was steaming through much of the moto, but managed to hold on and secured his first overall since 2018 via a 3-2 scorecard, joined on the podium by Ferrandis and Alex Martin. Earlier race winner Hampshire’s bike stopped toward the end, dropping him to 18th and sixth overall for the weekend.

450MX moto two:
Another phenomenal ride from Osborne saw him rise for victory in moto two this afternoon, passing longtime leader Max Anstie (HEP Motorsports Suzuki) in the closing laps to clinch his second 450MX round victory in a row. Osborne had to fend off a fast-finishing Musquin, who went by Anstie on the last lap and set his sights on Osborne, but came up 2.296s short across the finish. In the end it was Osborne from Musquin and Anstie, the top five filled by Jason Anderson (Rockstar Energy Husqvarna), Cianciarulo, who was in place to capture the overall at one point, then Craig, Joey Savatgy (JGRMX Yoshimura Suzuki), Blake Baggett (Rocky Mountain ATV/MC KTM WPS), Tickle and Justin Bogle (Rocky Mountain ATV/MC KTM WPS). Opening moto winner Barcia went down on multiple occasions, finishing 32nd for P7 overall. It was another bitter end for Tomac, this time exiting and being listed as 24th, which resulted in zero points for 16th in the round. On the podium was again Osborne to extend his points-lead, with Cianciarulo second today and Musquin third.