News 22 Aug 2020

Osborne makes it two in a row to extend Pro Motocross lead

Rockstar Energy Husqvarna rider delivers again in 450MX at Loretta's.

Image: Octopi Media.

Current Lucas Oil Pro Motocross Championship 450MX points-leader Zach Osborne has made it back-to-back round wins in a wet and wild day of action at Loretta Lynn’s 2.

There was no denying Justin Barcia (Monster Energy Yamaha) victory in the first moto of the day, putting himself into position early and powering away from the chasing pack.

Barcia picked up his first race win of the year outdoors by 48.535s even though he dropped the bike on the final lap, crossing the finish ahead of new teammate Broc Tickle as he made it a 1-2 for the factory YZ450Fs.

In third, despite stopping for goggles on lap one, was Adam Cianciarulo (Monster Energy Kawasaki), followed by Fredrik Noren (JGRMX Yoshimura Suzuki) and Rockstar Energy Husqvarna’s Osborne – after being struck with an electrical issue during qualifying – in fifth.

Next came Chase Sexton (Team Honda HRC), Jake Masterpool (Husqvarna), top qualifier Marvin Musquin (Red Bull KTM), Eli Tomac (Monster Energy Kawasaki) and Christian Craig (Team Honda HRC), who had been challenging for a podium earlier on in the moto.

Defending champion Tomac’s bike stopped on the final lap, but he was still credited ninth since he’d lapped into the top 10 prior to his troubles and salvaged valuable points as a result.

Another phenomenal ride from Osborne saw him rise for victory in moto two this afternoon, passing longtime leader Max Anstie (HEP Motorsports Suzuki) in the closing laps to clinch his second 450MX round victory in a row.

Osborne had to fend off a fast-finishing Musquin, who went by Anstie on the last lap and set his sights on Osborne, but came up 2.296s short across the finish. In the end it was Osborne from Musquin and Anstie.

The top five filled by Jason Anderson (Rockstar Energy Husqvarna), Cianciarulo, who was in place to capture the overall at one point, then Craig, Joey Savatgy (JGRMX Yoshimura Suzuki), Blake Baggett (Rocky Mountain ATV/MC KTM WPS), Tickle and Justin Bogle (Rocky Mountain ATV/MC KTM WPS).

Opening moto winner Barcia went down on multiple occasions, finishing 32nd for P7 overall. It was another bitter end for Tomac, this time exiting and being listed as 24th, which resulted in zero points for 16th in the round. On the podium was again Osborne to extend his points-lead, with Cianciarulo second today and Musquin third.

Next on the 2020 Lucas Oil Pro Motocross Championship schedule will be the Ironman National next Saturday, 30 August, in Crawfordsville, Indiana.

Detailed results