News 22 Aug 2020

Musquin leads Loretta Lynn's 2 qualifying in 450MX

Points-leader Ferrandis on top at conclusion of 250MX session.

Image: Octopi Media.

Red Bull KTM’s Marvin Musquin and Monster Energy Star Yamaha rider Dylan Ferrandis have qualified quickest at Loretta Lynn’s 2, the second round of the 2020 Lucas Oil Pro Motocross championship.

Musquin posted a 1m59.678s in the lone 450MX session of the morning in wet, muddy conditions, to lead Adam Cianciarulo (Monster Energy Kawasaki).

Those two were the only riders to dip beneath the 2m00s marker, with Justin Barcia (Monster Energy Yamaha), Benny Bloss (Husqvarna) and Joey Savatgy (JGRMX Yoshimura Suzuki) the top five.

Last week’s fastest qualifier Chase Sexton (Team Honda HRC) was sixth on the charts ahead of defending champion Eli Tomac (Monster Energy Kawasaki), directly ahead of Jason Anderson (Rockstar Energy Husqvarna) and Christian Craig (Team Honda HRC).

Red plate-holder Zach Osborne’s Rockstar Energy Husqvarna had a technical issue prior to the Group A session, however, he was able to get on-track in Group B and record a time to make the program with the 10th-fastest time overall.

Image: Octopi Media.

In 250MX it was current series leader Ferrandis who set the pace, his 1m57.179s leading teammate Shane McElrath.

Completing the top three was former champion Jeremy Martin (Geico Honda), followed by Justin Cooper (Monster Energy Star Racing Yamaha) and Cameron McAdoo (Monster Energy Pro Circuit Kawasaki).

Positions six through 10 included Alex Martin (JGRMX Yoshimura Suzuki), RJ Hampshire (Rockstar Energy Husqvarna), Geico Honda-mounted brothers Hunter and Jett Lawrence in formation, then Joey Crown (Rock River Yamaha).

Detailed results