News 9 Aug 2020

GasGas-mounted Coldenhoff victorious in MXGP restart

Red plate-holder Vialle extends advantage with MX2 overall at Kegums.

Image: Supplied.

A historic first victory for GasGas in the MXGP World Championship was earned by Glenn Coldenhoff at Kegums on Sunday, going 2-1 for the overall aboard the factory MC 450F.

The first of three-straight grands prix in Latvia, Coldenhoff trailed world champion Tim Gajser (Team HRC) in moto one, before standing atop the podium at the end of moto two.

Moto one belonged to Gajser after going back and forth with Coldenhoff, whole Romain Febvre (Monster Energy Kawasaki) claimed third position. The second outing saw Coldenhoff keep Jeremy Seewer (Monster Energy Yamaha) at bay, with Febvre again third.

Overall it was Coldenhoff who took the win ahead of Gajser – who was fifth in moto two – and the consistent Febvre. Current points-leader Jeffrey Herlings (Red Bull KTM) went 4-4 for fifth overall.

MX2 belonged to moto one winner and red plate-holder Tom Vialle (Red Bull KTM), who went 1-2 for the round. After finishing 16th in the first race, Jago Geerts (Monster Energy Yamaha) won moto two to salvage sixth overall. Instead, filling the round podium was F&H Kawasaki Racing’s Roan Van de Moosdijk and teammate Mathys Boisrame.

The 2020 MXGP World Championship will continue this Wednesday, 12 August, with a maiden mid-week round for the MXGP of Riga that will again be hosted at the Kegums circuit in Latvia.

Detailed results