News 8 Aug 2020

Remaining 2020 Loretta Lynn MX championships delivered

Robertson earns 2020 Nicky Hayden AMA Motocross Horizon Award.

Image: Supplied.

The 2020 Monster Energy AMA Amateur National Motocross Championship came to an exciting conclusion on Saturday, with champions crowned across the remaining 17 categories at Loretta Lynn’s Ranch.

Today was headlined by Open Pro Sport, where Rockstar Energy Husqvarna Factory Racing’s Stilez Robertson had an opportunity to wrap up titles in the two most high profile divisions.

Robertson wrapped up the title in 250 Pro Sport on Friday and entered Saturday tied with Yamaha Rock River bLU cRU Amateur Motocross Team rider Mason Gonzales atop the Open Pro Sport classification.

And that’s what Robertson did, passing Gonzales for the lead just past halfway, going on to win the race and championship over Gonzales and Dilan Schwartz (BarX Chaparral Suzuki). He also earned the 2020 Nicky Hayden AMA Motocross Horizon Award – the highest honor in amateur motocross.

In 250 B, Monster Energy Star Yamaha Racing’s Matt Leblanc entered Saturday’s final moto in control, riding to fifth and sealing the title. Final moto winner Nate Thrasher (TLD Red Bull KTM) was P2 overall due to a ninth in moto one, with Monster Energy Kawasaki Team Green’s Chance Hymas third.

On the heels of a three-moto sweep in 125cc B/C, TLD Red Bull KTM’s Max Vohland wrapped up an undefeated week with another victory in Schoolboy 1 B/C. He dominated ahead of Talon Hawkins (Rockstar Energy Husqvarna) and Yamaha/Rock River/bLU cRU Amateur Motocross Team rider Larry Reyes Jr.

Parity defined the first two motos of Schoolboy 2 B/C, as three riders entered Saturday’s final moto with a shot at taking home the title. With 1-2 finishes coming in, Monster Energy Kawasaki Team Green’s Jett Reynolds was in the favorable position alongside Thrasher and Hymas.

It was Hymas who prevailed, however, winning the final moto to take the title after charging through the pack. Second was Thrasher, while fifth in the final outing saw Reynolds have to settle for the final place on the podium.

Monster Energy Kawasaki Team Green’s Ryder Difrancesco was one of a few riders chasing a perfect 6-0 run, entering Saturday leading Supermini 1 and Supermini 2. He delivered the perfect double over teammate Gavin Towers and Evan Ferry (Rockstar Energy Husqvarna) in Supermini 1, while Ferry and Ben Garib (KTM) filled the Supermini 2 podium.

Other champions included Jacob Henry (250 C Limited), Brandon Scharer (Junior 25+), Michael Hicks (College 18-24), Katie Benson (Girls 11-16), Dakota Bender (250 C Jr. Limited 12-17), Levi Kitchen (450 B Limited), Luke Fauser (85cc 10-12), Gage Dunham (65cc 7-9), Cameron Horner (450 C), Joe Buskirk (Senior 45+) and Seth Dennis (65cc 10-11).

Detailed results