News 7 Aug 2020

First group of 2020 AMA amateur motocross champions crowned

Robertson, Vohland, Deegan and more earn Loretta Lynn's titles on Friday.

Image: Supplied.

The first group of champions have been crowned at the 2020 Monster Energy AMA Amateur National Motocross Championship.

Friday at Loretta Lynn’s Ranch saw the highly-coveted number one plate awarded to new title-holders across 19 different divisions.

Rockstar Energy Husqvarna Factory Racing’s Stilez Robertson went unchallenged today to clinch the 250 Pro Sport title, winning the moto by seven seconds over Dilan Schwartz (BarX Chaparral Suzuki), with Yamaha/Rock River/bLU cRU Amateur Motocross Team rider Mason Gonzales third.

In 450 B, Monster Energy Star Yamaha Racing’s Matt Leblanc won the final moto and a second-straight crown, taking the race win ahead of Husqvarna-mounted Wyatt Mattson and SLM KTM’s Matthew Curler.

The final 125cc B/C moto once again belonged to TLD Red Bull KTM’s Max Vohland, winning by over 20 seconds to seal the title ahead of Gage Linville (MTF KTM) and Rockstar Energy Husqvarna Factory Racing rider Talon Hawkins. Vohland’s also poised to win Schoolboy 1 (12-17) B/C on Saturday.

Carrying back-to-back moto wins into the final moto on Friday, SBG Racing Maxxis Babbitt’s Online Kawasaki’s Jordan Jarvis brought home another Women’s championship, winning the race over Tayler Allred (KTM Orange Brigade) and Rocky Mountain ATV/MC KTM’s Sophia Phelps.

Undoubtedly one of the hottest riders all week long at Loretta Lynn’s was Haiden Deegan (KTM Orange Brigade). Entering Friday’s final motos for both Mini Sr. 1 and Mini Sr. 2, he had compiled an undefeated record and was set to go a perfect 6-0 en route to a pair of championships.

To no-one’s surprise, Deegan rose to the occasion yet again and put forth arguably his best rides of the entire event to finish undefeated. He won the Mini Sr. 2 class over Triangle Cycles/bLU cRU/Yamaha’s Logan Best and Monster Energy Kawasaki Team Green rider Krystian Janik. In Mini Sr. 1, Deegan defeated Best and KTM rider Landin Pepperd.

With his pair of victories, Deegan became the first rider at the 2020 event to bring home multiple AMA national championships. He’s also the first rider to complete the week undefeated across more than one division.

Friday signified a landmark moment in the history of Loretta Lynn’s as the first-ever AMA electric championship was handed out in the Mini-E Jr. category, earned by KTM-equipped Kade Nightingale, but it was Jaydin Smart who raced to the moto victory today.

Additional champions won so far have been Levi Kitchen (250 B Limited), Garrett Alumbaugh (125 C), Nicholas Hayes (Vet 30+), Luke Fauser (85cc Limited 10-12), Kevin Walker (Masters 50+), Gauge Brown (51cc Limited 7-8), Seth Dennis (65cc Limited 10-11), Albert Haberle (250 C), Darren Pine (65cc Limited 7-9), Smart (51cc Limited 4-6), Grayson Porco (51cc Shaft Drive Ltd 4-6) and Kris Keefer (Senior 40+).

The final day of the 2020 AMA Amateur National Motocross Championship commences Saturday, 8 August, where champions will be crowned in the final 17 classes. Broadcast coverage of every moto can be seen exclusively on Racer TV.

Detailed results