News 3 Jun 2020

Late lap puts Baggett on top in SLC2 Supercross qualifying

McElrath continues form to lead the way once again in 250SX East.

Image: Octopi Media.

Team Rocky Mountain KTM WPS’s Blake Baggett stole the show in Salt Lake City Monster Energy Supercross qualifying to lead 450SX, as Shane McElrath was top of the charts in 250SX East.

Baggett put in a lightning-fast final lap of 44.770s to edge opening session leader Jason Anderson (Rockstar Energy Husqvarna) overall.

It’s been an impressive day so far for 2018 champion Anderson, narrowly missing P1, and behind the two at the front was red plate-holder Eli Tomac (Monster Energy Kawasaki). Fourth was Dean Wilson (Rockstar Energy Husqvarna), the final rider in the 44s.

The mixture of riders at the front meant title challengers Ken Roczen (Team Honda HRC) and Cooper Webb (Red Bull KTM) were fifth and sixth respectively on a track that is more technical than that raced in round 11. Today’s race will also be held into the evening.

Positions seven through 10 featured Martin Davalos (Monster Energy Team Tedder KTM), Malcolm Stewart (Smartop Bullfrog Spas MotoConcepts Honda), Zach Osborne (Rockstar Energy Husqvarna) and Justin Brayton (Team Honda HRC).

After attempting to ride earlier in the afternoon, Adam Cianciarulo (Monster Energy Kawasaki) opted to sit out the second qualifying session and won’t compete tonight.

Image: Octopi Media.

It was Sunday’s winner McElrath who continued his form in 250SX East with Monster Energy Star Racing Yamaha, stopping the clocks at 44.972s.

McElrath was the lone rider beneath the 45s, over half a second clear of championship leader Chase Sexton (Geico Honda), with his teammate Jeremy Martin completing the top three.

Fresh from a podium just days earlier, Garrett Marchbanks (Monster Energy Pro Circuit Kawasaki) was fourth ahead of Colt Nichols (Monster Energy Star Racing Yamaha) in P5 this afternoon.

Enzo Lopes (ClubMX Yamaha), Pierce Brown (TLD Red Bull KTM), Kyle Peters (Phoenix Racing Honda), Jalek Swoll (Rockstar Energy Husqvarna) and Jo Shimoda (Geico Honda) were also inside the top 10.

Detailed results