News 31 May 2020

Roczen tops 450SX qualifying as Supercross returns

Combined 250SX East times led by McElrath in Salt Lake City.

Image: Octopi Media.

Monster Energy Supercross is back and it was Team Honda HRC’s Ken Roczen who qualified quickest in 450SX as Shane McElrath led the way in 250SX East at Rice–Eccles Stadium this morning.

Round 11 sees the 2020 season resume in Salt Lake City today and it was a late lap from Roczen that saw him go to the top of the time-sheets.

It appeared points-leader Eli Tomac (Monster Energy Kawasaki) was going to strike the first blow in P1 until Roczen’s flyer of 41.666s, just 0.067s quicker than his title rival. Only three points separate the duo entering this final stretch of the series.

In third position after missing much of the session with a damaged front wheel was Adam Cianciarulo (Monster Energy Kawasaki), back from injury and being the final rider in the 41s. He edged defending champion Cooper Webb (Red Bull KTM), who in turn was followed by Dean Wilson (Rockstar Energy Husqvarna).

P6 belonged to Blake Baggett (Team Rocky Mountain WPS KTM), with the top 10 filled by Jason Anderson (Rockstar Energy Husqvarna), Malcolm Stewart (Smartop Bullfrog Spas MotoConcepts Honda), his teammate Justin Hill, Zach Osborne and (Rockstar Energy Husqvarna).

Notably down the order was Justin Barcia, the Monster Energy Yamaha rider who currently sits fourth in the point-standings qualifying in a lowly 15th position, however only 1.2s from Roczen at the front.

Image: Octopi Media.

In 250SX East it was Monster Energy Star Racing Yamaha’s McElrath who topped the combined times, his 42.173s four-tenths clear of red plate-holder Chase Sexton (Geico Honda), who went down during the final session.

On return this weekend and making his first appearance of the year, Colt Nichols (Monster Energy Star Racing Yamaha) completed the top three, leading Jeremy Martin (Geico Honda) and Garrett Marchbanks (Monster Energy Pro Circuit Kawasaki).

Positions six through 10 were filled by Pierce Brown (TLD Red Bull KTM), Enzo Lopes (ClubMX Yamaha), Kyle Peters (Phoenix Racing Honda) from Group B, Chris Blose (Chaparral FXR Racing Honda) and Jace Owen (Phoenix Racing Honda).

Detailed results