News 25 Jan 2020

Cianciarulo continues qualifying dominance with P1 at Glendale

Ferrandis tops 250SX West timesheets for the fourth-straight weekend.

Image: Octopi Media.

Monster Energy Kawasaki’s Adam Cianciarulo has topped 450SX qualifying for the fourth-straight weekend at Glendale’s fourth round of Monster Energy Supercross.

The premier class rookie lodged a time of 1m1.333s to set the pace, narrowly edging out teammate and Anaheim 2 victory Eli Tomac (Monster Energy Kawasaki) – who set a 1m1.445s time – for the top spot.

Points leader Ken Roczen (Team Honda HRC) was third after a posting a quick-time of 1m1.954s, as Jason Anderson (Rockstar Energy Husqvarna Factory Racing) and Malcolm Stewart (Smartop Bullfrog MotoConcepts Honda) completed the top five with 1m1.971s and 1m2.174s times respectively.

Positions six through to 10 were taken out by Justin Hill (Smartop Bullfrog MotoConcepts Honda), Cooper Webb (Red Bull KTM Factory Racing), Justin Barcia (Monster Energy Yamaha Factory Racing), Blake Baggett (Rocky Mountain ATV/MC KTM), and Martin Davalos (Team Tedder Monster Energy KTM).

Image: Octopi Media.

In the 250SX West division, reigning champion Dylan Ferrandis (Monster Energy Star Yamaha Racing) also extended his P1 qualifying streak to four, setting a blistering 1m2.064s.

Teammate and points leader Justin Cooper (Monster Energy Star Yamaha Racing) was second on the timesheets, the red-plate holder recording a fastest time of 1m2.308s after suffering a heavy fall.

Austin Forkner (Monster Energy Pro Circuit Kawasaki) locked out the top three with a time of 1m3.181s, as Christian Craig (Geico Honda) and Brandon Hartranft (Troy Lee Designs Red Bull KTM) set 1m3.288s and 1m3.299s times respectively for positions four and five.

The top 10 was completed by Jacob Hayes (Gas Monkey AJE Motorsports Husqvarna), Derek Drake (Troy Lee Designs Red Bull KTM), Mitchell Oldenburg (Penrite Honda Racing), Michael Mosiman (Rockstar Energy Husqvarna Factory Racing), Alex Martin (JGRMX Yoshimura Suzuki Racing) and Luke Clout (Penrite Honda Racing).

Detailed results