News 17 Dec 2019

250SX teams firm ahead of 2020 supercross season

Field shapes up as Anaheim's round one looms.

Image: Supplied.

250SX teams have solidified their line-ups ahead of the 2020 Monster Energy Supercross opener at Anaheim, scheduled to take place on 4 January inside Angel Stadium.

Geico Honda returns with a mega squad for 2020 once again, which will see reigning 250SX East champion Chase Sexton spearhead the six-rider team that includes Christian Craig – who just had his WADA suspension lifted – and Jeremy Martin, plus supercross rookies Hunter Lawrence, Jett Lawrence and Jo Shimoda.

Monster Energy Pro Circuit Kawasaki regulars Austin Forkner and Garrett Marchbanks return, where they’ll be joined by newcomers Cameron McAdoo and Jordon Smith.

Defending 250SX West champion Dylan Ferrandis will lead the powerhouse Monster Energy Star Yamaha Racing team, who for 2020, have brought in Ty Masterpool and Shane McElrath to join Justin Cooper and Colt Nichols.

Rockstar Energy Husqvarna Factory will field Michael Mosiman, RJ Hampshire and Jalek Swoll, as Troy Lee Designs Red Bull KTM enters a relatively new-look squad of Pierce Brown, Derek Drake, Brandon Hartranft and Brian Moreau.

Completing the list of factory teams is JGRMX Yoshimura Suzuki Factory Racing, who have re-signed Jimmy Decotis alongside Alex Martin. Teams are still to confirm which coast their riders will contest.